Minnesota auto insurance peculiarities
Insuring your car can be a costly endeavor if you don't know the hidden stones of insurance shopping in your state. And many shoppers make the same mistake everywhere - they tend to think that insurance needs and requirements are equal in all states, and getting your auto insured in New Mexico is the same as insuring auto in Minnesota. Wrong! Each state has its peculiarities and individual requirements for insurance coverage on vehicles and they can differ a lot even within neighboring states. Even the regulations concerning vehicle insurance are quite different between states, as in one state you can drive your car without any insurance for a certain period of time after registration, while in another state that would result in a substantial fine or even custody!
So when it comes to insuring your car in Minnesota, you have to learn the rules and regulations first. In order to receive all the info you need concerning vehicle insurance in your state you have to contact your state insurance department (either by phone or visiting the website). If you think purchasing Minnesota auto insurance with the help of an agent or a broker then this person will surely be aware of the local regulations and could consult you on the matter. However, double-checking doesn't cost you anything and it's always better to learn the rules before actually starting to play the game. Who needs fines or penalties, right?
Minnesota car insurance has minimum coverage limit requirements that any policy has to carry in order to be legitimate. If a policy doesn't meet these requirements, the driver carrying it will be considered underinsured and besides paying a substantial part of the accident costs (if there's an accident) is likely to be charged with a fine by the police. In order to avoid this your policy has to carry a minimum of 30/60/10 or higher amounts of coverage.
What does 30/60/10 mean, you might ask? The first two numbers denote bodily injury coverage that the policy has to carry, and the third one refers to the property damage liability. Let us explain this. The number 30 means that your policy has to carry at least $30,000 of bodily injury coverage per person, meaning that if a person gets injured during an accident your policy will cover the medical costs up to that point. The number 60 means that $60,000 is available in bodily injury coverage per accident. For example, if three persons get injured in an accident, either the two of them will receive $30,000 each or they will have to distribute $60,000 amongst all three participants. And 10 refers to $10,000 that the policy will pay for any property damage resulted from the accident. Bear in mind that these numbers are minimums and you can increase them as much as you can afford, while going below these limits will surely result in cheap auto insurance but will also make your policy illegal.
Don't forget that you can always shop around for a competitive rate. Don't rush off purchasing the first policy you are offered with. Get as much auto insurance quotes you can from different providers in your state, compare them and buy the policy you think has the largest amount of coverage for the lowest price!