Driving Peculiarities in California
You don't have to be a rocket scientist to realize that a lengthy road trip with your family means a hell lot of stress and trouble. And the rule of thumb here is the longer the trip the higher are the chances for you to run out of sanity. Not only do you have to spend time with your kids, but scheduling your time to arrive where you should be when you want to be and keeping your wallet full enough to keep feeding the hungry gas tank (thanks to the constantly rising gas prices) is definitely an art not so many can master. And could there be a more annoying thing than running into a ticket just because you don't know the laws of the state you're driving in.
That is why we offer you this brief California driving guide to help you avoid unpleasant mishaps with local highway patrol and traffic police and make your stay in the Golden State as pleasant and stress-free as it can be! Remember, that traffic laws may differ significantly from state to state, so if one thing is allowed in Connecticut, for example, it may be strictly banned in California. Knowing these differences makes a lot of sense, especially taking into account the money you could be fined with.
Speed Limit in California
Speed limits in California depend on the type of terrain, location and road situation. In overall, California highways carry the maximum speed limit of 65 mph. On some highways you will encounter even lower speed limits, which will be denoted trough special signs. The closer you are to urban areas, the lower is the speed limit. Some highways have a lower maximum speed, so visitors would be well advised to monitor posted limits-especially approaching urban areas. Californian urban streets have a maximum speed limit of 25 mph, which gets even lower around specially-defined school zones. Breaking Californian speed limits within ongoing construction areas will cause you to pay a double fine for speeding.
Using Radar Detectors in California
All vehicles other than commercial ones with the weight of 10,000 lbs or higher are allowed to carry radar detectors by California state law.
Using Cell Phones in California
Drivers of transit and school buses are not allowed to use cell phones while driving. All other vehicle drivers are allowed to take cell phone conversations while being at the wheel. However, it is recommended to check this law every now and then as cell phone bans are spreading quite rapidly throughout different states and countries in recent years.
Road Construction Information in California
To get the most recent and up-to-date information regarding road works, construction repair and bridge maintenance it's best to address The California Department of Transportation (CALTRANS). You can also get real-time traffic conditions through that service.
Bicycle Laws in California
The majority of Californian jurisdictions impose bicycle riders of 18 years and younger to wear a special helmet. Riding a bicycle between sunset and sunrise requires you to carry decent red reflectors, rear and forward-facing illumination.
And remember that running into traffic law violations in a different state will not only result in a fine but will also affect your California auto insurance rates later on. And with auto insurance getting more costly in recent years, allowing such things on your road trip to California is definitely not the best way of making the trip memorable.